This morning, Monday, March 6, 2017, President Trump signed a revised Executive Order banning citizens from Muslim-majority countries from traveling to the United States, but this time excluding citizens from Iraq. Citizens of the remaining banned countries, Iran, Libya, Syria, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen, are prohibited from entering the U.S. for a period of at least 90-days. The new order also prohibits refugees from entering the U.S. although no distinction is made between Syrian refugees and refugees from other countries, and cuts by more than half the number of refugees that will be allowed to enter the U.S. starting with fiscal year 2017.

In a press release, Secretary of Homeland Security John Kelly stated the new order applies only to foreign nationals outside of the United States “who do not have a valid visa,” and that it does not affect current lawful permanent residents or persons with current authorization to enter the country. White House Spokeswoman Sarah Huckabee Sanders stated the new order would take effect on March 16, 2017.  

A review of the new order reveals some of the same vague and ambiguous language on its application, and it poses many of the same issues as the first order signed on January 27, 2017, including discrimination based on religion, due process violations, equal protection violations, humanitarian concerns, and others. We will continue to post more information as it becomes available.

The information in this blog post (“post”) is provided for general informational purposes only, and may not reflect the current law in your jurisdiction. No information contained in this post should be construed as legal advice from Reid & Hellyer, APC or the individual author, nor is it intended to be a substitute for legal counsel on any subject matter. No reader of this post should act or refrain from acting on the basis of any information included in, or accessible through, this Post without seeking the appropriate legal or other professional advice on the particular facts and circumstances at issue from a lawyer licensed in the recipient’s state, country or other appropriate licensing jurisdiction.